The Arctic Council

Who owns the Arctic? At the 6th edition of BerlinMUN, the ambassadors of the Arctic Council will come together again after four years to strengthen cooperation to combat the effects of climate change.

The Arctic Council consists of eight member states, six working groups and six indigenous permanent participant organisations listed by the Ottawa declaration of 1996. The work of the Council is focused on environmental protection missions, reducing pollution effects and the improvement of the conditions of the Arctic communities.

The first topic will be the Commercial Shipping Routes through the Arctic Region. Delegates will focus in their debates on issues such as the future of the already existing legal framework, environmental protection and the prevention of conflict in the future.

Moreover, the Council will concentrate on minority rights and the related Arctic environmental protection. The discussions will tackle issues such as the effects of displacement on the indigenous population and the conservation of its cultural heritage. Furthermore, the aim is to question the success of the soft law decisions that have been made during the past years.

The representative of the Inuit Circumpolar Council Nils Steinhäuser is worried “about the obvious effects of climate change that we face every day. The opening of the shipping routes might bring economic benefits but will leave us with uncertain consequences for our land and our people.”


by Karina Blommen

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *